Consuelos

I’m fortunate enough to be teaching Business English this year. I’ve spent my time with the kids, I’ve had a change of perspective, I’ve learnt a lot from them and I definitely have changed my opinion of the little beings. This year, however, despite having to work my ass off for the same or less pay, I’m definitely finding it more challenging and satisfying in the way I need right now. My favourite thing is different perspectives: politics; culture; religion; education; history; economy, the list of the topics I cover on a weekly basis is endless. Mothers, singles, old, young, fat cats, people who’ve been demoted due to cut-backs, all these people give me eye-opening views of ideas on a daily basis. One thing I’ve come to realise however is that there is no idol to take the word of gospel from. Even the most successful and/or interesting people can be bitter and grumpy in their years and have a kind of attitude that isn’t what you need to hear at the cusp of defining whatever career you’re looking to find. I read something recently that reported that when a person airs their goals or major objective, they’re significantly less likely to achieve it (I can’t remember the source or figure). The idea was that, once said aloud and heard by someone else, the recognition and satisfaction was semi-achieved therefore the achievement itself wasn’t as exciting. This makes perfect sense to me, so I’m going to make an effort to keep my projects (and ambition) under wraps so as not to be congratulated, or as happened today, discouraged by outside parties… Still good sources for broadening the mind in general though!

Leave a Reply

